Wk 4 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

This week I took the opportunity to spend some quality time with my family at Venice beach and do my assignment (who doesn’t love the beach? And extra credit, more importantly).

I’ve never tried graffiti art before, but I’ve always appreciated their complexity. I appreciate it much more now, considering how difficult it is to be precise when using spray paint as an art medium.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

My practice designs for this week’s art experience assignment.

Unfortunately, bringing my design to life wasn’t as easy as putting marker to paper.

My finished product (in comparison to my sketch, I feel like this is really pathetic.)

I really hope that in the future I can experiment more with spray paints. My first experience with graffiti showed me that I need more practice and that this art form is definitely a lot more difficult than it initially appears to be. Personally, it is much harder for me as opposed to painting or drawing on canvas.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Leave a Reply

