Wk 8 – Art Experience – Automatic Drawing

Automatic drawing is holding a pen/pencil with both hands along with another person, until it starts drawing “on its own.” I took a time-lapse video of the process. It might look like we scribbled around just a little bit, but we were sitting there for a solid 30-ish minutes before anything started happening.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

The results of my automatic drawing.

In the past I’ve seen some articles about a mother (who is incidentally also an amazing artist) that lets her child scribble on canvases before she uses her artistic talent to take the drawings a huge step further. You can read the article here. I was inspired by that idea to make out whatever I could from our automatic drawing (in this case I saw a body of a dragon) and just went with it.

Although expanding on our huge scribble wasn’t part of the assignment, I thought it’d be fun and interesting. I drew this in a short amount of time so it’s definitely not perfect and I wish I could’ve made it more detailed. However overall this was a fun experience. As a full-time student that barely has any time to do things I find enjoyable, I’ll jump at any opportunity I have to draw.

MUSIC: “Okami – Wavebird” by ChildMe

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final drawing (I drew this in a very short amount of time, hence the messiness).

Leave a Reply

